arrow-down arrow-left arrow-nav arrow-right arrow-up close db-alumni db-current db-faculty db-fmaily db-future db-online download facebook gallery help linked-in maximize menu minimize pause play print search share twitter youtube zinfolio

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

The purpose of the Life University Faculty Senate is to provide a formal, collaborative organization to advance the education of LIFE’s students into transformational leaders in an increasingly diverse, global and dynamic world.  The Faculty Senate strives to foster and encourage effective communication among faculty and between faculty and administration; to promote unity and coherence among faculty; to provide a forum for raising, discussing and promoting resolution of faculty issues; to foster and encourage a learning environment based on the University’s values of Vitalism, Lasting Purpose and the Eight Core Proficiencies; and to promote instructional and service excellence and success in the classroom, University and community.

The Faculty Senate derives its authority from its constitution, which is endorsed and approved by the faculty as a whole, the President of the University, and the Board of Trustees.  It is authorized to speak for the whole faculty concerning matters on which it has deliberated and made recommendations.  It recognizes its role as advisory to the President and the Board of Trustees, in accordance with the provisions and spirit of the Statement on Shared Governance (approved by the Board of Trustees on January 23, 2009, and signed into effect in April 2009), and the Delineation of Roles in Shared Governance document.

The Faculty Senate is a representative body of the faculty as a whole, consisting of ten faculty representatives elected by the sub-divisions of the faculty they represent (see below), and the three-member executive committee, composed of the President, Vice President and the Secretary/Treasurer, elected by the faculty as a whole.  The Faculty Senate meets monthly throughout the quarter, usually during Weeks 2, 5 and 9 (if needed), to conduct business.  A full faculty meeting is held every other quarter (twice annually) during the Faculty Staff Development Program on Thursday of Week 0, for a report and to conduct full faculty votes/elections as needed.  Other committees and task forces meet and discuss business as needed, on varying schedules as outlined in the Faculty Senate Constitution and Bylaws.

More specific details can be found in the most current Constitution and Bylaws posted in the Faculty Handbook on this website, or by contacting an officer or representative of the Faculty Senate.  The Faculty Senate also maintains a work site on Blackboard called “FS101.”

Officers

Dr. Stephen Bloomingdale, President – (770) 426-2664; Stephen.Bloomingdale@LIFE.edu
Dr. Teri Stockwell, Vice President – (770) 792-1652; teri.stockwell@life.edu
Ms. Amanda Timberlake, Secretary/Treasurer – (770) 426-2771 x1473; Amanda.Timberlake@LIFE.edu

Representatives

College of Chiropractic
Dr. Paul Donaldson – (770) 426-2946; Paul.Donaldson@LIFE.edu (Outreach Clinics)
Dr. Gwendolyn Gardner – (770) 426-2664; Gwendolyn.Gardner@LIFE.edu (CC-HOP)
Dr. Kevin Harrison – (770) 426-2741 x1217; Kevin.Harrison@LIFE.edu (Clinical Sciences)
Dr. James Oppenheim – (770) 426-2709 x1317; JOppen@LIFE.edu (Chiropractic Sciences)
Dr. Eric Partin — (770)426-2718 x 1214; Partin@LIFE.edu (Basic Sciences)

College of Graduate and Undergraduate Studies
Dr. Deidre Meiggs – (770) 426-2733; Diedre.Meiggs@LIFE.edu (Natural Sciences)
Dr. Peggy Samples – (770) 426-1194; psamples@life.edu (Psychology)
Mr. David Wallace – (770) 426-2697 x1204; David.Wallace@LIFE.edu (General Education)

Library / Research Faculty
Ms. Geetha Sridaran – (770) 426-2691; Geetha.Sridaran@LIFE.edu (Library)

Faculty Senate Standing Committees – Chairpersons

CoC Admission Committee – Dr. Andy Krantz – (770) 426-2841; AKrantz@LIFE.edu
Graduate Admission Committee
– Dr. Jeffrey Lander – (770 426-2771 x 1472; JLander@LIFE.edu
Undergraduate Admission Committee
– Dr. Rebekah Janiak (770) 426-2697; Rebekah.Janiak@LIFE.edu
CoC Curriculum Committee
– Dr. Rick Sherkel – (770) 426-2709 x 1318; RSherkel@LIFE.edu
Undergraduate Curriculum Committee
– Dr. Frank Ruechel – (770) 426-2697 x 1202; FRuechel@LIFE.edu
Graduate Curriculum Committee
– Dr. Keith Rau – (770) 426-2771 x1475; Keith.Rau@LIFE.edu
Faculty Affairs Committee
–  Dr. Stephen Bloomingdale – (770) 426-2664 x1475, Stephen.Bloomingdale@LIFE.edu
Faculty Development Committee – Dr. Christie Kwon – (770) 426-2712; Christie.Kwon@LIFE.edu

We use cookies to give you the best online experience. By agreeing, you accept the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy. You can always change your settings with the Policy Center link in the footer.          Cookie Settings.

Privacy Settings

When you visit any web site, it may store or retrieve information on your browser, mostly in the form of cookies which we use to offer you a better experience and related content. Control your personal Cookie Services here.


In order to use this website we use the following technically required cookies
  • wordpress_test_cookie
  • wordpress_logged_in_
  • wordpress_sec
  • wp-settings-8
  • wp-settings-time-8

  • wp-settings-8
  • wp-settings-time-8

Decline all Services
Accept all Services